Customs Union Certificate (EAC) – What You Need to Know About It

The Eurasian Customs Union Certificate or EAC certificate is a document verifying that the products comply with requirements of the Eurasian Customs Union.

Some of the product categories that require EAC certification include mining and heavy industrial equipment, machinery, low voltage equipment, electronic equipment, etc.

About Eurasian Customs Union (EACU)

Formed in 2000, Eurasian Customs Union is a customs union that included members of the Eurasian Economic Union.

It was founded by Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus and took effect in January, 2010. In 2015, the union expanded to include Armenia and Kyrgyzstan.

The agreement meant that no customs will be levied on goods being imported and exported within these nations.

The idea was to foster economic integration by removing custom border barriers.

What the EAC Mark Should Look Like


The letters ‘E’, ‘A’, and ‘C’ should be at right angles to each other. The mark should be designed on a black and white background.

The size should not be less than 5mm to ensure visibility. What’s more, it should be clear enough to be seen by the naked eye throughout the lifespan of the product.  

Some Important Considerations

  • The EAC certificate was introduced to make transportation of good easier between the member nations.
  • With the Customs Union’s framework, unified customs tariff and trade regulations apply. This ensures harmony amongst member nations.
  • The mechanism also ensures quality control and safety of goods. The companies from the respective countries also have to comply with technical regulations.
  • Despite obtaining EAC certificate, companies might have to get other additional clearance documents, such as Minpromtorg licenses.
  • Some of the voluntary and special kinds of certifications that cannot be replaced by the EAC certificate include Telecom certificate, Russian Fire Safety certificate, Ex-proof certificate, etc. Also, there is no voluntary custom union certification.
  • Validity of EAC certification may be up to 5 years.
  • Only local companies (companies belonging to the Eurasian Customs Union) can apply.
  • The certificate can only be issued by a certified body in the Unified Register or by reliable testing authorities in the Customs Union.

Factors Determining Costs and Deadlines

As a company looking to obtain EAC certification, costs and deadlines are serious considerations.

Some of the factors include type and quantity of products, certification scheme opted for, status analysis of production, and so on.

G&M Compliance understands the roadblocks and hindrances associated when transporting goods to Russia. The company guides businesses through the entire EAC certification process and advises on best course of action for penetrating the Russian market.  



Facebook Comments